Not The Smartest Idea. But It Was Totally Worth It.

It was a Crossfit weekend. Loads of Crossfit. Enough! I need to throw myself in to an ice bath and not think about Crossfit for a few days!

My gym sponsored a local high school football team fundraiser Saturday. Here I am trying to throw that wallball over the goal post. Thank you, shoulders. P.S. My partner, Malia, and I took first place and won an awesome plaque made by the high school shop class. It’s lasered wood and has barbed wires on it…..BEST PRIZE EVER!!!! Thank you Arvada High School!!!

photo-140

Then, I wasn’t inspired to change out of my gym clothes so I threw on a clean tank top and made a trip to Whole Foods. I tried not to laugh at the cashier when she asked, “Do you need help with your groceries today?” Take a closer look at these shoulders, lady. In fact, I’ll cradle this watermelon just to prove a point. Then I had a Crossfit moment: awwww, this is why we do Crossfit. To carry watermelons on our shoulders.

photo-141

On Sunday my gym programmed Murph. I showed up and there was a weighted vest. Somebody had to wear it. I COULDN’T NOT WEAR IT.

Pre-Murph. How do you like my new kicks??

photo-142

Post Murph. It was the hardest WOD experience I’ve had so far. But it was totally worth it. Coach Mike kept reminding us about mental toughness during the WOD. It’s amazing what humans are capable of when we put our mind to it. Thank you, Murph.

photo-143

I’ve taken more naps this weekend than I care to admit. My body is wrecked…..oh did I mention we did ANOTHER Memorial Day WOD this morning? RECOVERY is in order!

I hope you enjoyed the long weekend! I’m starting to get weird which is what happens when I have too much time off. Idle time freaks me out. Back to work!! Have a great week!!

Joy

6 comments

  1. Kim

    I can only imagine how hard the WOD was!! Glad you demoed the watermelon carry!!
    And, I like your new shoes but I LOVE those shorts!!!

Leave a comment